Lord I want to see

In Luke 18:35-43 we have the story of the Blind Beggar. Jesus asks him “What do you want me to do for you?” and the blind man replies, “Lord, I want to see! As I pondered this the thought came to me that in some sense (s) I too am blind and want the Lord to grant me sight. Sometimes I am blind to the serious needs of others. Sometimes I am blind to the loneliness of friends and acquaintances. Sometimes I am impatient with demanding people. Sometimes I want to scream “get a grip” to those who wallow in self pity. Sometimes I want to move to a cave and spend my time contemplating God with out the interruptions of everyday life. Sometimes I want to make rude people nice. Sometimes I wish for a men’s only day at the grocery store, and sometimes I wish I had a driver to keep me out of trouble. Sometimes I wish that I could communicate so well that every person would understand about Jesus and his gift of salvation. You know…Lord…I just want to see like you see! Lord help me! Lord help us see!

About jdajr

Ordained Elder UMC BGS Indiana University MDiv Asbury Theological Seminary DMin United Theological Seminary
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

