The “Experience”!

As a young person I was taught that my salvation would be an experience, one that I would never forget. It was! The wave of God’s forgiveness washed over me and I knew that I was clean. From that moment on it was my desire to live for Christ. The experience brought about change in my daily life and a confidence in the future as Christ is my Redeemer, savior and friend. After pastoring for many years I wonder what has happened, in our churches, to the “Experience”? Where are the changed lives, calls to service, and love for one another? In a recent letter to the Council of Bishops the Renewal & Reform Coalition said, among other things, “The main problem facing The United Methodist Church is spiritual and theological in nature. Over the last forty years, our church has drifted from the foundational truth of Biblical authority and Wesleyan doctrine.” So…the “Experience” is gone? Lord Help Us get it back!

About jdajr

Ordained Elder UMC BGS Indiana University MDiv Asbury Theological Seminary DMin United Theological Seminary
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

